TV Box or Smart-TV?

runra

Hi, a slight off-topic, but i'm absolute noob at this topic and found no other place to ask this, so .. here goes:

So i have a Smart-TV, which unfortunately lack support for a critically needed feature, so i'm weighing my options now ...
router login
I guess TV Box is a cheaper option, but what would be other important positive \ negative sides?

Last edited:

sasamomo

Certainly, considering a TV Box is a valid option for enhancing your Smart TV's features. Here are some important factors to consider, including both the positive and negative aspects:

Positive Aspects:

1. Affordability: TV Boxes are generally more affordable compared to purchasing a new Smart TV.
  2. Versatility: TV Boxes come with various operating systems (Android TV, Roku, Apple TV, etc.), providing flexibility and a wide range of apps and services.
  3. Upgradeability: If your TV Box becomes outdated, it's often easier and more cost-effective to upgrade a small external device than an entire TV.
  4. Access to Apps: TV Boxes offer access to a multitude of apps, games, and streaming services, expanding your content options beyond what your TV originally supports.
  5. Portability: TV Boxes are small and portable, making them easy to move around and use with different TVs if needed.
Negative Aspects:

1. Additional Device: You have to deal with an additional device and remote, which might be inconvenient for some users.
  2. Potential Compatibility Issues: While rare, there might be compatibility issues between the TV Box and your TV model.
  3. Setup Complexity: Setting up and configuring a TV Box might be more complex than using the built-in features of your Smart TV.
  4. Dependency on Internet Connection: For streaming services, you'll depend on a stable internet connection, and the quality of your content will be influenced by your internet speed.